Shopify Subscription Apps Compared: Loop, Recharge and Others

In this guide
Disclosure: the author sells Shopify apps under Orbitloft; none of the tools compared here is ours. We hold no affiliate relationship with any of them and every link is plain. Our directory records each vendor’s affiliate status, and the disclosure page lists the author’s interests.
The short answer: pick on the features you must have and the monthly cost at your own volume, not on brand recognition. Shopify’s own Subscriptions app is the lowest-cost place to start. Seal and Loop have free tiers capped at 50 subscriptions. Recharge, Loop and Skio are the paid platforms with the deepest feature sets, and each charges a monthly fee plus a transaction fee. All numbers below come from the vendors’ own pages as of October 2026, which change; confirm them before you decide.
What these tools actually do
A subscription app lets a customer buy a product on a repeating schedule and manages the recurring charge, the customer portal where they skip, pause or cancel, failed-payment retries, and the emails around it. Most of the differences between apps are in four places: how they price, how much of the customer experience you can customize, how they handle payment failures and cancellations, and what you can do beyond a basic subscribe-and-save (bundles, prepaid plans, upsells, loyalty).
Published pricing side by side
| App | Entry plan | Mid / higher plan | Transaction fee (published) | Free trial or free tier |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Shopify Subscriptions | Listed as Free | n/a | Not stated on the listing page | Free to install per the listing |
| Loop | Starter $99 per month | Pro $399 per month; Enterprise custom | Starter 1.0%, Pro 0.75% | Free tier up to 50 active subscriptions; 14-day trial on paid plans |
| Recharge | Starter $99 per month | Plus $499 per month; Custom volume-based | Starter 1.49% + 19 cents; Plus 1.34% + 19 cents | 60-day trial on Starter |
| Skio | Scale $499 per month billed annually, $599 monthly | Enterprise custom | 1% + 20 cents on orders involving a subscription | Not stated on the pricing page we read |
| Seal Subscriptions | Free up to 50 subscriptions | $5.95, $9.95, $24.95 per month for up to 100, 250, 500 subscriptions | 0% on all plans | 30-day trial on paid plans |
Notes on reading this table. Payment processor fees (for example your card processing) are separate from every number above. Recharge says its fees are in addition to your commerce platform, processor and other apps. Recharge’s Plus and Custom plans run on 12-month terms per its page. The Skio page did not show a currency symbol, so confirm the currency when you sign up. We could not read Appstle’s listing, so it is not in the table; check it directly if you want a fuller comparison.
A worked cost example
Assume 500 subscription orders a month at a $50 average order value, so $25,000 in monthly subscription revenue. We apply each vendor’s published rate to that revenue, which is the most natural reading of the pricing pages but not something every page states in those words.
| App and plan | Monthly fee | Percentage fee | Per-order fee | Approx. monthly total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Shopify Subscriptions | $0 | Not stated | Not stated | Check the listing |
| Seal (Legend, up to 500 subs) | $24.95 | 0% | none | About $25 |
| Loop Starter | $99 | 1.0% = $250 | none | About $349 |
| Loop Pro | $399 | 0.75% = $187.50 | none | About $587 |
| Recharge Starter | $99 | 1.49% = $372.50 | 19 cents x 500 = $95 | About $567 |
| Skio Scale (annual billing) | $499 | 1% = $250 | 20 cents x 500 = $100 | About $849 |
| Recharge Plus | $499 | 1.34% = $335 | 19 cents x 500 = $95 | About $929 |
Two things stand out. First, at this scale the transaction fee is a larger share of the cost than the headline monthly price. Second, the ranking changes with volume: percentage fees climb with revenue while Seal’s tiers are capped by subscription count, so a store at 5,000 subscriptions faces a very different table. Loop’s own pricing page illustrates the same effect, showing about $4,149 per month for its Pro plan at 10,000 subscription orders with a $50 average order value. Run the arithmetic with your own order volume and average order value before you rely on any of this; this is a calculation from published rates, not a quote.
Which features are plan-gated
Vendors put features behind plans, and the gating often matters more than the base price.
- Loop lists failed-payment recovery, cancellation flows, a customer portal, bundles and selling plans on Starter; retention tools, upsells, prepaid subscriptions and Shopify Markets support on Pro; and custom reporting exports, webhooks and the admin REST API on Enterprise. Its page is inconsistent about whether API and webhook access sits in Pro, so ask.
- Recharge lists the core platform on Starter and marks bundles, the JavaScript SDK and Storefront API access, rewards and referrals, and concierge SMS as not included. Those arrive on Plus, along with hands-on implementation and migration support.
- Seal lists API and webhook access even on the free plan, with a customer portal and renewal reminders on the first paid tier and a custom cancellation flow on the third.
- Shopify Subscriptions lists subscribe-and-save, fixed and custom pricing, customer cancel, skip and pause, editable email templates and reporting. The listing’s reviewers report limits such as not being able to change the billing date or swap products inside a subscription. Those are user reports, not Shopify documentation, so test the specific workflow you need.
Who each option tends to suit
This is a fit guide, not a ranking. We have not tested these products.
- Just testing the idea, low volume: Shopify’s own app, or a free tier at Seal or Loop. Keep the migration question in mind.
- A focused catalog with simple plans: a low-fee-per-order structure such as Seal’s flat tiers is worth modeling, provided its feature list covers your needs.
- Retention and bundles are central to the business: the mid-tier plans from Loop and Recharge are built around those features, with the cost rising accordingly.
- High volume with a technical team: the higher tiers with API access and negotiated rates (Enterprise or Custom) are where fee percentages become negotiable.
Questions to ask before you sign
- What is the all-in monthly cost at our expected volume, including transaction fees?
- Which features we need are gated to a higher plan?
- How are failed payments retried and how are customers notified?
- How do existing subscribers and saved payment methods migrate in, and what happens if we leave?
- What is the contract term and is there a minimum?
- What does the customer see at checkout and in their account?
- How does the app fit with the rest of our stack; for email events and flows, see our Klaviyo setup order. Loop lists a Klaviyo integration on its page.
Mistakes to avoid
- Choosing on the entry price. The free or $99 plan may lack the one feature you need.
- Ignoring app stacking. Subscriptions often sit beside a loyalty app, a review app and an email platform; fees compound. If your store is changing front ends, read when headless is worth it because subscription widgets depend on the theme.
- Skipping a test purchase. Subscribe, skip, pause, cancel and trigger a failed payment on a test order before you launch.
- Handing the setup to someone who has not done it. If you hire help, see how to choose a Shopify agency.
Subscription program basics that apply to every app
Before choosing software, decide how the program works. Four decisions shape everything else:
- Discount structure. A fixed percentage off for subscribers is the simplest; tiered or loyalty-based discounts need more advanced plans in some apps.
- Frequency options. Fewer choices means fewer support questions. Many programs start with two or three intervals.
- Cancellation and pause policy. Easy cancellation reduces complaints and chargebacks, and several of these apps advertise cancellation flows or save offers as a way to retain customers.
- What happens on failure. Define how many retries, over what period, and what the customer is told. The apps above all list some form of failed-payment recovery, but the details differ, so ask.
Once these are written down, the feature checklist for the vendor conversation is short, and you can eliminate options quickly instead of comparing every feature page.
Next step
Build a small spreadsheet with your expected subscription orders, average order value and required features. Fill in the table above for two or three apps, test the trial of the finalist and confirm every fee on the vendor page the day you buy.
Frequently asked questions
What is the cheapest way to start selling subscriptions on Shopify?
Shopify's own Subscriptions app lists its price as Free on its App Store page, and Seal and Loop both advertise free plans capped at 50 subscriptions. Free plans have limits on features and volume, so check what you would be missing before you build a program on one.
Do subscription apps charge per order as well as monthly?
Several do. As of October 2026, Loop's paid plans list a percentage transaction fee, Recharge lists a percentage plus 19 cents per transaction, and Skio lists 1% plus 20 cents on orders involving a subscription. Seal lists a 0% transaction fee. Percentage fees grow with your revenue, so model your own volume.
Is a more expensive app better?
Not by itself. Higher plans add features such as bundles, upsells, loyalty tools or API access. If you do not need them, you are paying for capability you will not use. Pick the cheapest plan that covers your required features at your expected volume.
How hard is it to switch subscription apps later?
Migrating active subscriptions, saved payment methods and customer portal links is the hardest part of any switch, and some vendors advertise migration help on higher plans. Ask a prospective vendor exactly how existing subscribers move in and out before you commit.
Do you earn commission if I use these links?
No. Every link in this guide is a plain link. Our directory records that Loop has a partner program we have not joined, and that Recharge's program terms are unconfirmed. See the disclosure page for any change.
Keep planning
- How to Choose a Shopify Agency Without Getting Burned
A decision guide to hiring a Shopify agency: scope first, fixed vs hourly, questions to ask, red flags, and why every agency list (including ours) is biased.
Updated Oct 2026 - Shopify App Store Listing Checklist: Assets, Copy, and Pricing
Every field in a Shopify App Store listing with its limits: icon, 1600x900 images, copy lengths, pricing rules, locked editor and visibility, as of October 2026.
Updated Oct 2026 - Why Shopify Rejects Apps: The Review Failures That Cost Weeks
The recurring reasons Shopify App Store reviews fail (billing gates, dropped query strings, mock data, blank iframes), mapped to requirement IDs and fixes.
Updated Oct 2026


